Medium | Opinion

Two Tiers and a few Tears

The problems with becoming Medium’s New Friend.

🌬️Mitch
4 min readDec 2, 2023

--

Image by Mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Everyone will be vying for the attention of what will in essence be super readers.

After reading Nevena Pascaleva’s article on the new Medium Friend tier, I have to conclude she’s absolutely right. Everyone will be vying for the attention of what will in essence be super readers.

Their reads can give up to 4X the earnings of the ordinary member.

I fully intend to join because of this, If I can give back more to my reading circle, it’s a done deal. Doesn’t matter to me whether they are Medium friends or not, I’m part of a community, that’s how I roll. Most of the people I read will do this.

As a side note, if you’re a PayPal member, you’ll likely have to cancel your membership and set up an alternate form of payment in order to do this. (Currently my situation)

Screenshot of my membership renewal page

What else can Medium Friends expect?

Unwanted attention

--

--

🌬️Mitch

Just the guy next door, glad to meet you. Pull up a chair let's stir the pot together. Reach me at: lacks@mail.com.